In 2023 it will be mandatory to register for ETIAS

ETIAS registration will commence by the end of 2022 and become mandatory in 2023. Citizens from visa-exempt countries will need to apply for ETIAS and get authorized to enter Europe. In 2016, European institutions approved setting up a visa waiver to increase the security and safety of citizens within Schengen borders. The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) system was initially supposed to go live by the end of 2021. Still, it was pushed back and is now confirmed to begin online pre-screening by the end of 2022 and become mandatory in 2023.
ETIAS For Argentina

Who will need ETIAS to travel to Europe?

The citizen of 60 visa-exempt countries will transition to need a visa ETIAS waiver by the end of 2022. Countries in this list include the United States, Canada, Australia, Argentina, Mexico, and many more. Practically, the lives of hundreds of millions of travelers will change.

ETIAS will simplify travel between the Schengen area countries as travelers holding an ETIAS will be able to enter a Schengen country many times during the waiver’s validity. The safety and security of all living within Schengen borders will increase as it will become easier to find fallacies and discrepancies at the port of entry.

When will ETIAS become mandatory for visa-exempt travelers?

The most important dates to keep in mind are ETIAS 2022 and ETIAS 2023. In 2022, the system will go live, and people will be able to start applying and receive an official authorization. Once receiving their ETIAS visa waiver, foreign travelers will be able to enter Schengen area countries multiple times before its three-year expiry date.

In 2023, the system will become mandatory. That means that citizens of the 60 visa-exempt countries who do not possess an ETIAS won’t be allowed entry to Europe. Practically, by 2023, holding an ETIAS will become necessary to travel to Schengen countries, even for short trips.

How long will the grace period last?

ETIAS registration won’t be mandatory for the first six months of implementation. Moreover, a 6-month grace period may also apply. That means that it might take up to 12 months for ETIAS to become mandatory to its fullest.

While border officials would enable visa-exempt travelers without an ETIAS to enter Europe at this time, it may be wise to apply for ETIAS straight away. Indeed, even without an ETIAS, travelers would have to meet all necessary ETIAS requirements. Furthermore, the European Union is also looking for more ways to acclimate foreign travelers and border guards to the new standards.

Will travelers be able to study in Europe or work in Europe with ETIAS?

As ETIAS is not a visa, it won’t allow foreign citizens to study or work in a Schengen country. Instead, the ETIAS visa waiver will enable foreign citizens to use ETIAS to enter the Schengen area many times for its three-year validity period.

The waiver permits holders to travel for up to 90 days in Europe for short traveling purposes such as business or tourism. If you wish to study or work in a Schengen country, you must apply for the relevant standard study visa or work visa.

Italy is a popular tourist destination known for its stunning coastline, picturesque seaside towns, and a rich cultural heritage. The country is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea, and the coastline stretches for more than 7,500 km. There are several coastal cities in Italy, including Naples, Genoa, Venice, Palermo, and Florence, each with its own unique charm and beauty. Let's check out the best Italian coastal cities.
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center
ETIAS will speed up border checks and ensure traveler experience is faster and more secure. Research shows passengers are willing to share their personal information if it means shorter queues and less headache. At a time when data protection is paramount, the European Union will launch its European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) by the end of the year. The visa ETIAS waiver will pre-screen foreign travelers and allow for faster and more secure processing for business, tourism, and other short-term purposes.
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center
Nice is so much more than the stunning beaches and delicious dishes it's known for - by night, this charming Mediterranean city transforms into a sensational playground. Get ready to explore the seven best bars in Nice with us!
ETIAS Center
ETIAS Center

    Get Notified!
    Sign up to get notified as soon as ETIAS becomes mandatory for traveling to Europe.
    Your data is in safe hands. Privacy policy